WELCOME TO THE MACHINE
Brix Unlimited Banner

Go Back  

The Singularity This is the general technology forum. The line between Computers, cell phones, tablets, video games, and all microprocessor powered machines are breaking down. Disuss them here.

 
Ad Block Detected...

[Timezone Detection]
Really Fast Registration - Join in seconds!
User Name:
Email Address: Over 13 and agree
to Forum Rules?  
Human Verification

Random Question

Reply
NOTICE Notice: This is an old thread. It was started 2172 days ago, there may be recent replies. Consider making a new thread before posting.

 
    
Thread Tools
Old Tue 11/11/2008, 01:12 PM   #1
jpnjim
Product of modernmedicine
 
jpnjim's Avatar
 

Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Boston
Posts: 3,533

Gameroom cash: $80571
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
jpnjim is infamous around these parts with -1994 points...jpnjim is infamous around these parts with -1994 points...jpnjim is infamous around these parts with -1994 points...jpnjim is infamous around these parts with -1994 points...jpnjim is infamous around these parts with -1994 points...jpnjim is infamous around these parts with -1994 points...jpnjim is infamous around these parts with -1994 points...jpnjim is infamous around these parts with -1994 points...jpnjim is infamous around these parts with -1994 points...jpnjim is infamous around these parts with -1994 points...jpnjim is infamous around these parts with -1994 points...jpnjim is infamous around these parts with -1994 points...jpnjim is infamous around these parts with -1994 points...
Default Toshiba Lappy doesn't "like" (2g) PNY memory.

Toshiba Satellite A215-4807, mid grade 1 year old machine.

Came with 2g, is upgradable to 4g (according to Toshiba & Crucial).
Over the last year, I've had 4 different 1g sticks, and a 512 stick in there, at different times, and all have worked fine.

I just bought a 2g PNY stick (MN2048SDS-667), and it's a non-starter in this machine.

I tested the new memory out by trying it in gf's machine (1.5 year old Acer Aspire 9410-4441), and it works perfectly, and posts at 2g (3g total, with a 1g in the other slot).

I even tried the new 2g PNY by itself (nothing in the other slot) in my Toshiba (incase the BIOS was limiting the machine to 2g max for some reason), and it still doesn't start.



So, have you ever had memory work in one machine, and not another?


I have another 2g PNY in the package, but I don't want to open it up, if it's only gonna work in one of my machines.
__________________
Guests can not view signatures. Please register to view.
jpnjim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Tue 11/11/2008, 02:00 PM   #2
skeptic
The 'In' Crowd
 

Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Youtaw
Posts: 7,516

Gameroom cash: $182510
Liked 559 Times in 368 Posts
Like/STFU Ratio: 93.17 : 1
skeptic is a splendid one to behold with 1697 points...skeptic is a splendid one to behold with 1697 points...skeptic is a splendid one to behold with 1697 points...skeptic is a splendid one to behold with 1697 points...skeptic is a splendid one to behold with 1697 points...skeptic is a splendid one to behold with 1697 points...skeptic is a splendid one to behold with 1697 points...skeptic is a splendid one to behold with 1697 points...skeptic is a splendid one to behold with 1697 points...skeptic is a splendid one to behold with 1697 points...skeptic is a splendid one to behold with 1697 points...skeptic is a splendid one to behold with 1697 points...
Send a message via Yahoo to skeptic
Default

If it's High Density memory, it may or may not work in some computers. It also may show up as half what it really is. Spend the extra few bucks for low density.
skeptic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Wed 11/12/2008, 04:20 AM   #3
BirdOPrey5
JUOT Founder & Admin
 
BirdOPrey5's Avatar
 

Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: New York
Posts: 52,474

Gameroom cash: $176421
Liked 5,133 Times in 3,317 Posts
Like/STFU Ratio: 19.74 : 1
BirdOPrey5 is a splendid one to behold with 1920 points...BirdOPrey5 is a splendid one to behold with 1920 points...BirdOPrey5 is a splendid one to behold with 1920 points...BirdOPrey5 is a splendid one to behold with 1920 points...BirdOPrey5 is a splendid one to behold with 1920 points...BirdOPrey5 is a splendid one to behold with 1920 points...BirdOPrey5 is a splendid one to behold with 1920 points...BirdOPrey5 is a splendid one to behold with 1920 points...BirdOPrey5 is a splendid one to behold with 1920 points...BirdOPrey5 is a splendid one to behold with 1920 points...BirdOPrey5 is a splendid one to behold with 1920 points...BirdOPrey5 is a splendid one to behold with 1920 points...BirdOPrey5 is a splendid one to behold with 1920 points...
Default

Even with the 4GB of RAM you're only going to really see 3.something GB... usually between 3.1 and 3.5 depending on how big your video card is... While this doesn't answer your question the last GB (upgrading from a 1GB to 2GB chip) doesn't provide the full affect anyway.
__________________
-Joe (This is Post #266,725)

After a time you may find that having is not so pleasing a thing, after all, as wanting...
BirdOPrey5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Wed 11/12/2008, 08:38 AM   #4
jpnjim
Product of modernmedicine
 
jpnjim's Avatar
 

Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Boston
Posts: 3,533

Gameroom cash: $80571
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
jpnjim is infamous around these parts with -1994 points...jpnjim is infamous around these parts with -1994 points...jpnjim is infamous around these parts with -1994 points...jpnjim is infamous around these parts with -1994 points...jpnjim is infamous around these parts with -1994 points...jpnjim is infamous around these parts with -1994 points...jpnjim is infamous around these parts with -1994 points...jpnjim is infamous around these parts with -1994 points...jpnjim is infamous around these parts with -1994 points...jpnjim is infamous around these parts with -1994 points...jpnjim is infamous around these parts with -1994 points...jpnjim is infamous around these parts with -1994 points...jpnjim is infamous around these parts with -1994 points...
Default

Originally Posted by skeptic View Post
If it's High Density memory, it may or may not work in some computers. It also may show up as half what it really is. Spend the extra few bucks for low density.
I thought the density ussue was just with older machines.
I was thinking all DDR2 memory was High Density. :unsure:

The PNY site doesn't list this exact machine at all (a215 series Toshi Satellite), but it does list the a205 series as taking the memory I bought.
I'll look into it further,
thanks.
jpnjim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Wed 11/12/2008, 08:51 AM   #5
jpnjim
Product of modernmedicine
 
jpnjim's Avatar
 

Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Boston
Posts: 3,533

Gameroom cash: $80571
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
jpnjim is infamous around these parts with -1994 points...jpnjim is infamous around these parts with -1994 points...jpnjim is infamous around these parts with -1994 points...jpnjim is infamous around these parts with -1994 points...jpnjim is infamous around these parts with -1994 points...jpnjim is infamous around these parts with -1994 points...jpnjim is infamous around these parts with -1994 points...jpnjim is infamous around these parts with -1994 points...jpnjim is infamous around these parts with -1994 points...jpnjim is infamous around these parts with -1994 points...jpnjim is infamous around these parts with -1994 points...jpnjim is infamous around these parts with -1994 points...jpnjim is infamous around these parts with -1994 points...
Default

Originally Posted by BirdOPrey5 View Post
Even with the 4GB of RAM you're only going to really see 3.something GB... usually between 3.1 and 3.5 depending on how big your video card is... While this doesn't answer your question the last GB (upgrading from a 1GB to 2GB chip) doesn't provide the full affect anyway.
The rest of the story:

The Toshi came stock with 2g.

While I had my little Acer 'One' netbook disassembled to try a different HDD, I swapped it's 512 card for a 1g out of the Toshi.

(FWIW, you have to completely dissassemble the 'One' down to taking the MB out of the case to swap memory )
It worked, so I left it in.

So Toshi ended up with 1.5g.

1.5g + Vista = the suck




I bought a 2g card (to replace the temporarily swapped in 512), so Toshi would = 3g
(I wasn't trying for 4g, the other 2g is for a buddy's computer.)

Toshi didn't 'like' the 2g Memory

2g does work in GF's lappy, so the memory is good, Toshi just doesn't like it.
jpnjim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Wed 11/12/2008, 11:00 AM   #6
neevo
Limey
 
neevo's Avatar
 

Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Leeds, England
Posts: 8,850

Gameroom cash: $172784
Liked 822 Times in 588 Posts
Like/STFU Ratio: 10.15 : 1
neevo has disabled reputation with 1931 points...
Default

In answer to your question, yes I 've had a fair few motherboards over the years that dont like particular memory brands. It's usually the cheaper brands that have the compatibility problem.

Only options are to try and return it for a swap, put it in another machien or put it aside and get another stick that will work
__________________
Guests can not view signatures. Please register to view.
neevo is online now   Reply With Quote
Old Wed 11/12/2008, 11:32 AM   #7
jpnjim
Product of modernmedicine
 
jpnjim's Avatar
 

Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Boston
Posts: 3,533

Gameroom cash: $80571
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
jpnjim is infamous around these parts with -1994 points...jpnjim is infamous around these parts with -1994 points...jpnjim is infamous around these parts with -1994 points...jpnjim is infamous around these parts with -1994 points...jpnjim is infamous around these parts with -1994 points...jpnjim is infamous around these parts with -1994 points...jpnjim is infamous around these parts with -1994 points...jpnjim is infamous around these parts with -1994 points...jpnjim is infamous around these parts with -1994 points...jpnjim is infamous around these parts with -1994 points...jpnjim is infamous around these parts with -1994 points...jpnjim is infamous around these parts with -1994 points...jpnjim is infamous around these parts with -1994 points...
Default

Thx Neevo,

I'll probably try the 2g chip I already opened in my buddy's computer.

If it works for him, I'll return the other (unopened) one for something a little higher up on the food chain.

jpnjim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Sat 11/15/2008, 03:23 PM   #8
jpnjim
Product of modernmedicine
 
jpnjim's Avatar
 

Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Boston
Posts: 3,533

Gameroom cash: $80571
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
jpnjim is infamous around these parts with -1994 points...jpnjim is infamous around these parts with -1994 points...jpnjim is infamous around these parts with -1994 points...jpnjim is infamous around these parts with -1994 points...jpnjim is infamous around these parts with -1994 points...jpnjim is infamous around these parts with -1994 points...jpnjim is infamous around these parts with -1994 points...jpnjim is infamous around these parts with -1994 points...jpnjim is infamous around these parts with -1994 points...jpnjim is infamous around these parts with -1994 points...jpnjim is infamous around these parts with -1994 points...jpnjim is infamous around these parts with -1994 points...jpnjim is infamous around these parts with -1994 points...
Default

OK, I got Corsair memory instead.

Works great, thanks to all who posted.





One more question tho.......

The Vista memory rating actually went down with the 3g vs 2g.


2x 1g hynix memory = 5.9 Vista rating for memory operations per second.

1x 1g hynix + 1x 2g Corsair = 4.9 Vista rating for memory O.P.S.



Computer does seem to load software faster with 3g, just wondering why the rating went down
jpnjim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Sat 11/15/2008, 04:07 PM   #9
BirdOPrey5
JUOT Founder & Admin
 
BirdOPrey5's Avatar
 

Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: New York
Posts: 52,474

Gameroom cash: $176421
Liked 5,133 Times in 3,317 Posts
Like/STFU Ratio: 19.74 : 1
BirdOPrey5 is a splendid one to behold with 1920 points...BirdOPrey5 is a splendid one to behold with 1920 points...BirdOPrey5 is a splendid one to behold with 1920 points...BirdOPrey5 is a splendid one to behold with 1920 points...BirdOPrey5 is a splendid one to behold with 1920 points...BirdOPrey5 is a splendid one to behold with 1920 points...BirdOPrey5 is a splendid one to behold with 1920 points...BirdOPrey5 is a splendid one to behold with 1920 points...BirdOPrey5 is a splendid one to behold with 1920 points...BirdOPrey5 is a splendid one to behold with 1920 points...BirdOPrey5 is a splendid one to behold with 1920 points...BirdOPrey5 is a splendid one to behold with 1920 points...BirdOPrey5 is a splendid one to behold with 1920 points...
Default

If the new RAM is slower then the old RAM your system benefits from having more actual RAM but it will only read/write to the RAM at the speed of the slowest chip.
BirdOPrey5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Mon 12/08/2008, 09:17 PM   #10
jpnjim
Product of modernmedicine
 
jpnjim's Avatar
 

Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Boston
Posts: 3,533

Gameroom cash: $80571
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
jpnjim is infamous around these parts with -1994 points...jpnjim is infamous around these parts with -1994 points...jpnjim is infamous around these parts with -1994 points...jpnjim is infamous around these parts with -1994 points...jpnjim is infamous around these parts with -1994 points...jpnjim is infamous around these parts with -1994 points...jpnjim is infamous around these parts with -1994 points...jpnjim is infamous around these parts with -1994 points...jpnjim is infamous around these parts with -1994 points...jpnjim is infamous around these parts with -1994 points...jpnjim is infamous around these parts with -1994 points...jpnjim is infamous around these parts with -1994 points...jpnjim is infamous around these parts with -1994 points...
Default

FWIW, the original JUNK PNY memory that wouldn't work in the Toshi, went into GF's (Acer) computer, and worked fine.......



Till yesterday, when it went to BSOD (Blue Screen Of Death).



Pulled the memory back out, and all is well.

PNY = JUNK
jpnjim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Tue 12/09/2008, 08:21 AM   #11
neevo
Limey
 
neevo's Avatar
 

Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Leeds, England
Posts: 8,850

Gameroom cash: $172784
Liked 822 Times in 588 Posts
Like/STFU Ratio: 10.15 : 1
neevo has disabled reputation with 1931 points...
Default

Download memtest86+ from here http://www.memtest.org/#downiso

burn the iso to a cd and boot off it and let it run. Eventually it will give a load of red block, note the number and quote it when you return teh memory (it msut be stil under warranty) and they should swap/refund it.

You could jsut send it back faulty but if you give them teh data they are more likely to do so quickly as you've jsut saved them a job

Keep the cd too, it's worth having around as it rules out so many things, if I get windows errors I boot off it and leave it running, if it does 5 loops OK then I assume the memory is fine as the memory will be nice and toasty after 5 loops but sayign that, if there is a memory fault it usually kicks in within a minute of that test!
neevo is online now   Reply With Quote
Old Tue 12/09/2008, 07:20 PM   #12
jpnjim
Product of modernmedicine
 
jpnjim's Avatar
 

Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Boston
Posts: 3,533

Gameroom cash: $80571
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
jpnjim is infamous around these parts with -1994 points...jpnjim is infamous around these parts with -1994 points...jpnjim is infamous around these parts with -1994 points...jpnjim is infamous around these parts with -1994 points...jpnjim is infamous around these parts with -1994 points...jpnjim is infamous around these parts with -1994 points...jpnjim is infamous around these parts with -1994 points...jpnjim is infamous around these parts with -1994 points...jpnjim is infamous around these parts with -1994 points...jpnjim is infamous around these parts with -1994 points...jpnjim is infamous around these parts with -1994 points...jpnjim is infamous around these parts with -1994 points...jpnjim is infamous around these parts with -1994 points...
Default

Thanks Neevo, I'll try it.
jpnjim is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump: Jump to Off-Topic


Affiliate & Important Links
                       

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:51 AM.

Powered by vBulletin®
Software Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
See our TOS for DMCA compliance.
All Original Content Copyright © 2008 - 2014, Joe's Ultimate LLC.
Any unoriginal content remains Copyright © of their respective owners. We do not claim Copyright for material not originating from this website.
no new posts
Page generated in 0.23655 seconds with 33 queries