• Important! If you attempt to register and do not get an email within 5 minutes please check your spam box. This is especially true for Microsoft owned domains like Hotmail, Outlook, and Live. If these do not work please consider Gmail. Yahoo, or even AOL email which works fine.

Attic Floor -- Plywood question

Wharf Rat

Ooomph Ooomph
VIP
Just put some pull down stairs in yesterday so that I can actually use the bigger of the 2 attics for storage.

Now it's time to go get some plywood to make a floor. I've never done this before and there are like 7 million types and thicknesses. I never knew there were so many choices.

Anyone know what I size/type should be buying to do this?

Just put some pull down stairs in yesterday so that I can actually use the bigger of the 2 attics for storage.

Now it's time to go get some plywood to make a floor. I've never done this before and there are like 7 million types and thicknesses. I never knew there were so many choices.

Anyone know what I size/type should be buying to do this?
Will you ever be putting any finished flooring up there? Or will this be plywood attic floor for all time? What are the dimensions that you will be covering? What spacing are your joists? Typical is 16", but if your roof is trussed, you might be farther apart.

I really like 3/4" plywood as a solid surface.

synonymous

Better than you.
VIP
But the Wazny manual would say 3/4 t&g plywood. Marine grade.
Modern plywood seems more poorly made than the stuff of yore. They don't fill the voids between the plys like they should, and the material is of lesser quality over all. I had a chunk of 3/4" from circa 1995 I used in my remodel here, and it was WAYYYYYY more rigid and of better quality than the modern stuff.

Wharf Rat

Ooomph Ooomph
VIP